Culture, Releases, Rock — March 27, 2013 at 10:00 am

RELEASE: Depeche Mode – Delta Machine


Depeche Mode is not only the 80s new wave tubes ‘Just Can’t Get Enough’ or ‘Personal Jesus’. The English trio has a quite long and prolific history, and cyclically comes back every 2-3 years with a new opus. Delta Machine has been released this week, and sounds very contemporary: new wave-rock mellow songs with a large electro-indus zest (you might note the similarity between Nine Inch Nails’ ‘Everyday Is Exactly The Same’ (2005) and the opening track ‘Welcome To My World’). Here is more on Delta Machine’s making.

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode’s Martin Gore, Dave Gahan and Andy Fletcher are firing on all cylinders for Delta Machine, their 13th album, conjuring the boldness and creativity that underpinned the success of Violator and Songs of Faith and Devotion. Over their three-decade-plus careerthese sonic trailblazers have sold in excess of 100 million records, sold out most of the world’s major stadiums, and charted more than 50 hits in the US and UK alone. 

“We’ve been playing music together for half our lives,” explains Gore. “At this point we know each other’s strengths and weaknesses, and know we work very well together. We’ve had our well-documented ups and downs, but now we play to our strengths. We didn’t always.” 

Those strengths were evident immediately when the threesome met at Gore’s Santa Barbara studio last April for Delta Machine. “This was the first time ever that we listened to the demos and we liked the overall direction,” says Gore. “A lot of the time when we start an album we have a song and it might work quite well, but we want to take it in a different direction and make it better. We’ll try out 10 different approaches to it, and there’ll usually be one that’s reggae. Never works, but we always try it. But this time we didn’t need to do that.”

Gahan’s songwriting further enriched the process. Although writing songs for the band since 2005, on Delta Machine he surpassed even his own expectations, contributing five of his own compositions and co-writing “Long Time Lie,” the first time he and Gore have worked together on a song. Remarkably, his songs fit seamlessly alongside Gore’s, so much that you’d be hard-pressed to determine who wrote what. “We never talk about lyrical themes before we start. It just happens naturally,” explains Gore. “Because we work on the songs as a band in the studio, Dave’s songs tended to end up sounding very similar and fitting in very naturally with the rest of the album.”

“We started throwing around ideas and waited until the songs started taking some kind of form before we attempted to give the album a name. This time, the form they were taking was strongly drawing on a blues influence, that Delta blues thing, sort of crawling and a bit sleazy, a bit dirty,” explains Gahan. “I don’t want to claim we’re making a blues album,” counters Gore. “It’s our version of the blues. We’ve been working in our style of blues for quite a long time now. If you go back to Violator there’s quite a lot of songs on there that are very bluesy, and Songs of Faith and Devotion and Ultra as well. I think we’re just embracing that now and making it more obvious in the title.  “As for the name, I like the idea of nature with machines. The organic with inorganic,” says Gore. But then he was Depeche’s first synth player, and tends to get sentimental about technology.

Delta Machine achieves the goal of establishing a fresh new path for one of the world’s most-influential bands. They may have given themselves a name that implies the fleeting nature of fashion, but their three-decades-plus career and heightened creativity underscore that they are anything but an ephemeral fad.




Delta Machine






1 – Welcome To My World
2 – Angel
3 – Heaven
4 – Secret To The End
5 – My Little Universe
6 – Slow
7 – Broken
8 – The Child Inside
9 – Soft Touch / Raw Nerve
10 – Should Be Higher
11 – Alone
12 – Soothe My Soul
13 – Goodbye

DISC 2 (with Deluxe edition)
1 – Long Time Lie
2 – Happens All The Time
3 – Always
4 – All That’s Mine

 Listen to Delta Machine on Deezer