Culture, Pop, Releases — November 16, 2012 at 11:21 am

Release: Robbie Williams Takes the Crown


UK Music Hall of Fame’s Greatest Artist of the 90s, Robbie Williams, arrives with his forthcoming ninth studio album entitled Take the Crown.

The album takes flight by the lead single, ‘Candy’, a brilliantly addictive classic pop song Robbie wrote with former Take That band mate, Gary Barlow. “It’s a summer song about a girl who thinks she’s great. And she might be, but she’s a bit nefarious with her ways. Some songs take an age to write and some songs just fall out of your mouth completely formed, and you don’t have to think about it. I don’t know why that fell out of my mouth and out of my brain at that particular time – it just did,” explains Robbie.

Being Williams’ first solo album in three years after his return to Take That in 2010, Take the Crown features a solo rendition of Take That’s ‘Eight Letters’, as well as other ear candy tracks like ‘Shit On the Radio’, ‘All That I Want’, ‘Hunting for You’, ‘Hey Wow Yeah Yeah’ and ‘Reverse’ among others.

“I want to create an impression that I’m fully in with this album. I want to dominate the charts. I want to take on the world. I want to be a top pop star. I’m re-energised and it’s called Take the Crown for that reason,” says Robbie.



1. Be a Boy
2. Gospel
3. Candy
4. Different
5. Sh*t on the Radio
6. All That I Want
7. Hunting for You
8. Into the Silence
9. Hey Wow Yeah Yeah
10. Not Like the Others
11. Losers (feat. Lissie)


ROBBIE WILLIAMS has sold over 70 million records worldwide, which ranks him among the best-selling music artists worldwide. He is the best-selling British solo artist in the United Kingdom and the best-selling non-Latino artist in Latin America. Six of his albums are among the top 100 biggest-selling albums in the UK. He has also been honored with seventeen BRIT Awards—more than any other artist—and seven ECHO Awards. In 2004, he was inducted into the UK Music Hall of Fame after being voted as the “Greatest Artist of the 1990s.”



Robbie Williams – ‘Candy’

 ‘Candy’ is available on iTunes and MyMusicStore. You can also pre-order Take the Crown on iTunes.  CDs will be available on November 19 under MCA Music (Universal Music Philippines) at Astroplus and Odyssey Music & Video.