Pop, Releases — March 22, 2013 at 11:09 am

RELEASE: Dido – Girl Who Got Away


Anyone who has lived in the early 2000s would know who Dido is. She is, after all, that girl who softly croons next to Eminem’s assaulting rants as a crazed fan on the track “Stan“. If that wasn’t enough, her vocals were also showcased on that hit show ‘Roswell‘ on The WB. Since then she’s sold a total of 29 million albums – and all before her fourth record, Girl Who Got Away, released this month.

Composed of songs of defiance, hope and heartbreak, Girl Who Got Away aims to make the world fall in love with Dido all over again. Much like her previous records, specifically her debut No Angel (1999) and her follow up Life for Rent (2003), majority of the tracks were co-written and produced by her brother, Rollo Armstrong and is built around waves of sumptuous electronica. 

An unmistakable optimism shines through the new album – which Dido completed late in 2012 after taking a year off to concentrate on motherhood – especially on tracks like “Go Dreaming”, and the ode to true love “No Freedom”. MTV’s Hottest MC in the Game for 2013, Kendrick Lamar, drops by the album’s third track in a surprising but fairly pleasing collaboration called “Let us Move On”; Dido’s soft but powerful vocal chops blending in smoothly with the beat. Other standout tracks include the loved-up redemption of the folksy, autobiographical “Sitting On The Roof Of The World”, and the propulsive “End of the Night” and “Blackbird” – both upbeat tunes that disguise painful lyrics.

And for the album’s title? Dido claims, “It’s one of my favourite songs on the record but I guess it also sums up the last few years for me. Taking a step back from it all and going off to have the whole happy adventure of starting a family and making an album that I really am so proud of. And now I just can’t wait for people to hear it.”

With her taking five years before releasing a follow up on Safe Trip Home (2008), we might have once thought that Dido is the girl who got away – but now she’s back and all set to take another taste of the limelight. 


1. No Freedom
2. Girl Who Got Away
3. Let Us Move On featuring Kendrick Lamar
4. Blackbird
5. End of Night
6. Sitting on the Roof of the World
7. Love to Blame
8. Go Dreaming
9. Happy New Year
10. Loveless Hearts
11. Day Before We Went to War


Artist Website


Dido – No Freedom