Artists / Bands, Culture, Indie / Alternative, Releases — June 18, 2012 at 5:40 pm



Electronica + Britpop + indie rock = Reverend and the Makers. Their latest offering entitled @Reverend_Makers (Cooking Vinyl/distribution Love Da Records) is a soundtrack to Sheffield; a city of steel and post-industrialization, a city in the über-connected 21st century. This album comes after a 3-year break and tells us of everyday stories such as Facebook, love and work. @Reverend_Makers is all about transcending reality through music.

After a three year hiatus Reverend And The Makers are back with their third and arguably best album yet.  It’s entitled @Reverend_Makers because, as Jon McLure explains, “the songs the little situations I see living in Sheffield in 2012.  Nothing seems to sum up the present and the times we live in more than the @ symbol.”

It was recorded in London and Sheffield and produced by Youth (The Verve/U2), Jason Cox/James Dring (Gorillaz/Professor Green) and Reverend And The Makers with every song sounding like a 21st century pop classic, marrying indie melodies with the sparse electronics that dominate McLure’s home city.

Gone are the politics that informed the last two albums and in their place is an aural reportage of the everyday, the big and the little stories of a northern city in the grand tradition of fellow Yorkshire men such as Pulp and Arctic Monkeys.

McLure explains “I was fed up with what I was doing. I got right into political stuff and I was mardy all the time. It was making me miserable and I needed time out. I went a bit bonkers basically but I’m back in a good place now. This album is much more upbeat. Basically, I cheered the fuck up mate.”

The new album sees a return to the social conscious that marked out his initial forays into music. 21st century’s Internet and social networking as well as beer and fags and fights. It’s this knack of taking snapshots of the everyday life and turning them into song that is McLure’s special talent.

‘Warts n All’ is about girls posing in their pictures on Facebook and peer rivalry while ‘Out Of The Shadows’ is about a boss making life hell. It has huge crossover potential with McLure’s soulful voice perfectly complimenting a song of redemption in the gloom. ‘One Plus Zero’ is a kitchen sinker while ‘Noisy Neighbour’ is about turning music up in competition. There is even a love song on the album: ’Yes You Do’, an ode to McLure’s wife.

Reverend And The Makers are back to reclaim their crown. Never has real life sounded so good. The tumbledown of cheap drugs, gritty realism, thrilling escapism, sex, and fish and chip suppers, hedonistic living, all night dance music in dank semi legal cellars, and the comedown – all soundtracked by great guitar music.


1. Bassline 3:09
2. Out Of The Shadows 3:16
3. Shine The Light 3:24
4. Depth Charge 3:33
5. Warts N All 3:01
6. Yes You Do 2:28
7. The Wrestler 2:54
8. 1+0 3:22
9. Noisy Neighbour 2:08
10. What Goes Around 3:09





John McLure of Reverend and the Makers is one of the most engaging modern musicians. Sheffield bred, he is six foot plus of pure high IQ attitude and passion and a key player in the city’s recent musical revival. Breaking through in 2007 with the top ten hit ‘Heavyweight Champion of the World’ from their first album The State of Things and consolidating it with the second 2009 studio album, A French Kiss in the Chaos his band’s mix of indie guitars and electronics updated the form adding heartfelt vocals and a social consciousness rare in modern music. After a three year hiatus, @Reverend_Makers takes this a stage further.

McLure built a reputation as one of the few modern musicians capable of social and political comment and is in big demand around the world for his forthright opinions. Musically in the past few years, feeling that a modern musician has to be engaged with the current musical debate he has been on the run from indie – working with the Reverend Sound System whose beats based sound was quite different from his original muse and a highly effective reflection on urban culture.

Last year though, worn out from always leading the pack, he took some time out and decided to return to his roots by putting Reverend And The Makers back together.

The resulting album is the sound of someone who has lived the dream, had the success, the hit albums, traveled the world, played the stadiums but is still fascinated by his own roots. The magnetic draw of the north and its powerfully unique musical cities like Sheffield with their experimental pop heritage tempered by a blunt social realism is at the heart of some of the best British pop.

“After touring round the world, coming home was amazing, I wanted to write kitchen sink tunes that describe our own fucking life – to write about normal people without being too grandiose about it. I wanted to write songs for my brother and my cousins back in Sheffield and not about snorting coke with celebrities in back of the limo. The songs seem to have a theme to them – a lot of them are about escapism – the girl hiding herself on Facebook, or someone dreaming of winning the lottery, or being out of their heads or wanting to shag another bird – they are the themes I’m attracted to.”

The album also sees a return to the hook strewn guitar flavoured electro indie pop of his initial musical forays with great choruses and melancholic rain swept tunes. Classic northern pop.

“Musically it’s probably more similar to the first album. In parts it’s more electronic and the subject matter is more akin to the first album as well. It’s not that I don’t feel the same way politically but making political music becomes boring – for me and my audience. I like footie and having a laugh as well.”

“There has to be a band writing songs about real life again, there’s loads of songs about now. I’m writing songs about what people can relate to.” explains McLure, a man who has found himself and doesn’t need to escape any more.